Happy Islamic New Year 1435/2014 :)

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

HAPPY NEW YEAR 1435!!!

The Islamic New Year begins at sunset on Monday, November 4, 2013 in North America and ends at sunset on Tuesday, November 5, 2013.

The Islamic year begins on the first day of Muharram, and is counted from the year of the Hegira, the year in which the Prophet Muhammad (saw) emigrated from Mecca to Medina (A.D. July 16, 622). The Islamic New Year is based on the revolutions of the Moon. Thus, Al-Hijra is only 354 days long.

At the time of sunrise many recite the following dua, or prayer, on the day of the New Year:

O’ Allah, the New Year has begun. You are the Eternal Master. I ask You to make available to me its good and the benefits which are in it. I seek refuge with You from its evil and the disadvantages which are in it. I request You to let me procure the provisions I need and discharge the activities I take up in this year.

Ameen!

Ya Haqq!

Leave a comment