Love’s Boulevard

If you have not come by the way of love
You have taken the wrong road, O helpless one

Lost in the world, which way can you turn?
Stop at the Tavern, ask directions!

Let the darvishes there guide you
Or your journey will have been in vain

First, Praise God in all things, then
Bless the tongue that speaks these words,

“Take but a step with the intention of love
And all paths become Love’s Boulevard.”

O Lord, let me become dust on Your path
That I may be carried by every traveler

To the country of the Beloved
Where everywhere, there is only You

– Irving Karchmar, © November, 2010

Ya Haqq!

7 Responses to Love’s Boulevard

  1. Anum says:

    SubhanAllah! :) Makes me so happy to read this :) Thank you for sharing this gem of a poem! :)
    Salaam

  2. Rabeya says:

    Really love this poem dearest father :) My whole heart is telling me, all these words are true. Specially love these lines a lot,

    “O Lord, let me become dust on Your path
    That I may be carried by every traveler

    To the country of the Beloved
    Where everywhere, there is only You”

  3. shirley says:

    Such sweetness!

    ‘To the country of the Beloved
    Where everywhere, there is only You’

  4. Maithri says:

    Glorious words dear brother, may this great love Which you write so eloquently come to rest around the shoulders of your life. Blessings of peace, maithri

  5. Irving says:

    Thank you, dear brothers and sisters, for your kind comments :) I am grateful to you all.

    Ya Haqq!

  6. Achelois says:

    So beautiful! My heart fills with love for the Beloved whenever I read your words. Thanks for sharing!

  7. rafique says:

    A church,a temple or a kaba stone,
    Quran or Bible or a martyr’s bone,
    All these and more my heart can tolerate,
    Since my religion now is love alone. – Abul Ala

Leave a comment