The Moon is Always Full

The moon is always full
Our human eyes
See only its phases

Love is always here
Our human heart
Sees only its shadow

Joy is always present
Our human mind
Reasons it away

God is always near
Our human spirit
Knows this without words

O Moon, display your full beauty
to my inner eye
O Love, come into the light that casts
no shadow
O Joy, overflow my cup of reason
with your wine
O God, fill me, fill me, fill me
with Your knowing

That my heart may rejoice in You
My eyes may be filled with You
My reason overcome by You
My spirit abound in You

Ameen!

– Irving Karchmar, © November 2007

36 Responses to The Moon is Always Full

  1. pbsweeney says:

    After reading this, I feel full too! Thank you thank you! It’s a wonderful poem and it’s such a gift to read.

    Salaams,
    p

  2. Dipti says:

    beuatiful emotions magically weaved in poetry. enjoyed it immensly
    Kudos..

  3. Rabu says:

    salam

    ameen ! ur poems are very peaceful , a peace of real beauty & inspiration. I am a great fan of ur poems.

  4. Safa says:

    Hu!

    So soothing and tender, like the breeze from the Love Ocean of Divine Mercy, …intoxicating and heart-rvishing. Talk of the Beloved is always so sweet. Thanks dear Irving for such beautiful sincere song on the One True Beloved flowing down through your blessed soul……!

    Haqq!

  5. Krishna.N.C says:

    Dear Respected Irvingbhai,
    Please accept my humble salaam!
    “That my heart may rejoice in You
    My eyes be filled with You
    My reason overcome by You
    My spirit abound in You” Ameen!!!wow! what a beautiful poem…As you said the magic is eternally around us, we just need to open our eyes and behold His boundless blessings.
    God bless you for this beautiful reminder :-)

  6. Abdur Rahman says:

    Salaams Irving bhai,

    O Baba Darvish! What a poem. Pour us all out another cup of wine: we are all dying of thirst!

    A grateful Abdur Rahman

  7. azza05 says:

    Lol yeh abdurahman pour on us another cup of wine brother Irving. Amazing poem, God bless you irving :)

  8. Achelois says:

    How beautiful! Mashallah.

  9. Frieda says:

    I have never heard this poem before..it was great …I read it early 5:am in the morning and what a perfect way to start the day. with your permission I would like to post this for my readers too. thank and many more blessings!

  10. Arshia says:

    Assalam Alaikum,

    Your poem is so beautiful, as I was reading it aloud it even struck a chord in the heart of my 4 year old. “Read it again, Mama.” she said, and even had me print it out for her to keep and reread at least a dozen times this morning.
    May Allah bless you.

  11. […] An answer to Irving’s poem, The Moon is Always Full Posted in Faith, God, Hope, Love, Poetry, Religion, Soulmate, […]

  12. artemis2 says:

    ‘Joy is always present
    Our human mind
    Reasons it away’

    This in particular is wonderful.

  13. Irving says:

    Salaam Dear Brothers and Sisters:

    Thank you all for the kind and lovely comments :) And Arshia, please give your sweet daughter a hug for me :) It is always touching when children respond so hearteningly to poetry.

    May Allah bless you all.

    Ya Haqq!

  14. Merryweather says:

    Enlightening poem- You seem to write that which is at the depth of my heart; but could not be known so beautifully by myself… & in the form of a prayer! -I hope I make some sense.
    Great poem, thank you brother Irving- I loved it!

  15. Omar says:

    Ameeen!

    What a heart lifting poem!

  16. almiskeenah says:

    Assalamu alaikum Dear Irving Darvish,
    another gem from your inner jewel box, SubhanAllah. May the mine of your heart continue to share such sparkles that glisten in our hearts, Ameen.
    Wassalamu alaikum

  17. annie says:

    peace!

    i love this poem, the first three stanzas especially. thank you for sharing it, irving!

  18. Barbara says:

    Pure love!

  19. Sis Zabrina says:

    Bismillaah

    As Salaamu ‘alaykum and peace to all,

    Brother Irving, my hearts beats peacefully in accordance with the beat of your poem…

    Sis Zabrina

  20. Maithri says:

    This is glorious my brother,

    Peace and love to you,

    Maithri

  21. That is a beautiful poem. I am spellbound by the concepts you put through. Things that I always have wanted to say, but had not found examples for.

  22. Gabby says:

    beautiful words, Irving. we are forever in the garden of eden surrounded by bounty.

  23. sf says:

    Salaams Irving Bhai,

    Masha Allah! Beautiful words gently guiding us to attain spiritual fulfillment through mind, body and soul.

    May we all strive to achieve the same with His blessings. Ameen

    Jazaak Allah for sharing,
    sf

  24. Carmen says:

    I love it!
    I came via Frieda
    Can I please have your permission to share it in my blog?
    Thank you

  25. Ruth says:

    I like this poem – it reminds me a lot of Rumi. A very interesting blog, much needed in our modern world. I’ll be back!

  26. prayer says:

    god bless

  27. […] The Moon is Always Full […]

  28. Ismail says:

    What a beautiful bi-khodi (selfless) I found in this poem.

    Ya Haqq brother Irving,

    In the last months I lose my power of reading in sargashtegi (wondering)! If Allah will I will read your blog more.

    Ya Haqq!

  29. Irving says:

    Ya Haqq Ya Darvish Ismail!!

    Alhamdulillah, that love has captured your heart in wondering :) It is a blessing beyond words. May Allah fill your heart until there is no room for words or blogs or anything but Hu!

    Ya Haqq!

  30. Shawna says:

    My spirit is touched by this. Thank you. Ameen!

  31. Hashim Hafsa says:

    A beautiful poem, full of indications, a ‘rosary’…thank you very much

  32. Raihana says:

    Lovely…prayer!

  33. Sufi heart says:

    Yesterday I smiled at the moon. I love this prayer.

  34. mohamed says:

    nice for ur poem

  35. herazahra says:

    oh my moon,,,hopely to be shines as sun shines

Leave a comment