Cleaning Your Room

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

It is related that one day a few years ago, a new darvish was sitting in one of the Nimatullahi Sufi khaniqahs when the Master, Dr. Javad Nurbakhsh, walked through the room, saying in passing to one of the older dervishes, “Go clean your room. I’ll look at it later.”

The older darvish then moved to a quiet corner to meditate and repeat his zekr, while the new darvish went out to work in the garden. Much later, the new darvish came back into the room and found the older man still sitting in the corner. He went up to him with a worried expression and said, “What are you doing? Aren’t you going to clean your room?”

The older darvish looked up at him and smiled. “The Master meant my heart.”

Ya Haqq!

8 Responses to Cleaning Your Room

  1. Achelois says:

    Haha, cute!

  2. Irving says:

    Salaam Dearest Sister Achelois :)

    Yes, very cute…and true. I did not think I would ever meet a true Sufi in my lifetime, but our late Master, Dr. Javad Nurbakhsh (may Allah bless him and raise his rank to those of His closest beloveds), was a saint to all who knew him, especially within the Nimatullahi Order. And he had shown many, many times, in stories that I will relate over the years, inshallah, that he possessed, among many other spiritual gifts, the qualities of a Jasus el-Qulub, a diviner of hearts, which allowed him to read the hearts of his darvishes to guide them all the better.

    Ya Haqq!

  3. Lilian al Nahaas says:

    Salam brother Irving , this is a really good entry. Seems to fit what my Spiritual Guide has been telling me lately. And adds to my excitement for the ‘journey’ I’m about to make.

    Jazakom Allahu khayran

  4. Rabu says:

    Salam ! and it’s lovely.

  5. Tasmiya says:

    I shall refrain from telling my boys this story..until they’ve cleaned their room :P

    I really enjoyed reading this story. Thank you for this :)

  6. Anum Yasar says:

    Touched my heart! :)
    Beautiful.

    Salam to you Brother Irving.

  7. Sweeter than chocolate.

  8. ayesha says:

    choooooo chweeeeeeeeeet

Leave a comment