“Wheresoever ye turn, there is the face of Allah.”

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

“Do not praise your own faith exclusively, so that you disbelieve all the rest. If you do this, you will miss much good – nay, you will miss the whole truth of the matter. God the omniscient and omnipresent cannot be confined to any one creed, for He says, ’Wheresoever ye turn, there is the face of Allah.’”

– ibn al-Arabi

Ya Haqq!

8 Responses to “Wheresoever ye turn, there is the face of Allah.”

  1. What a humbleness and love.. SubhanAllah.

    I read somewhere that there are many ways, and each of them ultimately leads to God, but some ways are very long and full of difficulties, and one of them, the real way is very short.

    Brother Irving, thank you very much for this post

  2. Felicia says:

    Alhamdulillah, that really is the truth!

  3. Nasir Ali says:

    Ibn Arabi is very difficult to understand by an ordinary Muslim such as me. At the same time, I am aware that as a Sunni Muslim I have to accept him as an Awliya-Allah, which I do. How I wished that he could be explained in terms that would be understood by the laity.

  4. Irving says:

    Salaam Dear Brothers and Sister:

    Indeed, it is the truth, and although I too find ibn Arabi difficult to wade through in his philosophical thought, it is what is at the heart of his thinking and being and loving that shines forth:

    “My heart has become capable of every form; it is a pasture for gazelles and a convent for Christian monks, and a temple for idols and the pilgrim’s Ka’ba, and the tablets of the Torah and the book of the Koran. I follow the religion of Love: whatever way Love’s camels take, that is my religion and my faith.”
    – Ibn al-Arabi

    Ya Haqq!

  5. Aynur says:

    I like the quote. :)

  6. Malik says:

    I like this quotation brother Irving,how can i post it to my pfe ?

  7. Abdanur says:

    Shaykh Ibn Arabi is quoting the Holy Quran. It is Allah who teaches us: ‘Wheresoever you turn there is the Face of Allah’. Do not despair if you cannot unravel the intellect of a philosopher. Allah says: ‘He who knows himself knows his Lord’. This is enough for a seeker. Your truth is not with Ibn Arabi, it is within your own heart. Allah has created us to worship Him, so worship Him. Discipline yourself to follow the Straight Path, it will lead you to Him. Clean your heart of everything but love of Allah. You will know when you are drawing near because what was difficult will become a joy.

    My dear brother Nasir, there is no such thing as an ordinary Muslim, but there is such a thing as a real Muslim. A real Muslim is an amazing human being. My brother, you are fasting in this heat for what? Glory be to Allah!

  8. B.Khawar says:

    I am proud of being Muslim. I love Allah and His last Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him), and obey them. I have lots of respect and tolerance for other religions. May Allah bless all of us.

Leave a comment