“My Love” – A Poem by Rabi’a al-‘Adawiyya

My Love

My joy
My hunger
My shelter
My friend;
My food for the journey
My journey’s End.

You are my breath,
My hope,
My companion,
My craving,
My abundant wealth.

Without You..My Life, My Love..
I would never have wandered across these endless countries.
You have poured out so much grace for me,
Done me so many favors, given me so many gifts..
I look everywhere for Your love..
Then suddenly I am filled with it.

O Captain of my Heart
Radiant Eye of Yearning in my breast,
I will never be free from You
As long as I live.

Be satisfied with me, Love,
And I am satisfied.

– Rabi’a al-‘Adawiyya

One Response to “My Love” – A Poem by Rabi’a al-‘Adawiyya

  1. Abduyah Yaakub says:

    MashaAllah such a beauty. Thank you for sharing, brother. Allah AlWadud, Allah AlMussawir … Glory to The One!

Leave a Reply

