“If you wish to draw near to God, you must seek God in the hearts of others.”

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

“If you wish to draw near to God, you must seek God in the hearts of others. You should speak well of all, whether present or absent. If you seek to be a light to guide others, then, like the sun, you must show the same face to all. To bring joy to a single heart is better than to build many shrines for worship … The true man of God sits in the midst of his fellowmen, and rises up and eats and sleeps and buys and sells, and gives and takes in the bazaars, and marries and has social intercourse with others, and yet is never for one moment forgetful of God.”

― Abu Sa`id Abul-Khayr

Ya Haqq!

3 Responses to “If you wish to draw near to God, you must seek God in the hearts of others.”

  1. بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمٰنِ الرَّحِيْمِ

    Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

    I am Dr. Noorullah Soomro, an Assistant Professor at Mehran University of Engineering and Technology, Jamshoro, Sindh, Pakistan.I have completed my PhD from Çukurova University, Adana, Turkey in 2011.

    I would like to share my little story on Darvish based on dream in 1991, which was later fulfilled. My first visit to Konya was in 1979 and I came to pay my personal tribute respects to Hazrat Mevlana Jalaluddin Rumi, as a devoted follower who reads his work with great pleasure. Since I only had one day in my trip, I came to Konya and while waiting outside the door of the mausoleum, I inquired a Turkish gentleman when will the door open, he surprisingly looked at my face and replied in Turkish “Kardeşim bugün mezarı kapalı… kapalı.” I was a shock for me as I had my flight from Istanbul the next day so I sat on the wooden bench with deep sorrow. While seated on the bench facing to the tomb an unintentionally words came to my tongue verbalized as bye Mevelana now I am going back, and will come back when you call me again to Konya as a guest.

    My dream of 1991 come true!!!

    One fine night of March 1991 at around 04:00 am; I saw Hazrat Mevlana Jalaluddin Rumi (r.a) in my dream that I was resting over his soft, long hairs and his one hand was on my cheek as symbol of love and I felt the sensation which woke me up and recited Kalma Tayyaba. On the same day in the morning I was sitting in my office, surprisingly the Chairman of the organization called me and said that an official delegation is going to visit Turkey within few days therefore he nominated my name as a technical member of the delegation. I become so happy and excited at this good news.
    Finally, my dream came true; thanks to Allah being a technical member of the official delegation arrived Istanbul without paying a penny because all the expenses of the Turkey visit were borne by the government of Pakistan. I took some time off from the trip and traveled to Konya and visited Hazrat Mevlana. I believe that this visit was because my beloved Mürşit Hazrat Mevlana Jalaluddin Rumi (r.a), called me as a guest.

    Later in 2006, I started my PhD at Çukurova University, Adana, and frequently visited Konya. Being a devotee (mürit) of the prominent emissary of universal humanitarian values, Hazrat Mevlana Jalaluddin Rumi.

    Love All,
    Ya Haqq!

  2. Greetings Irving! Where do we look to find our creator?
    So many people offer different advice. I have found the best way is to seek a relationship with Him. Our greatest need is to get to know Him.

    We need to know that no matter what religion we have studied, He treats everyone justly.

    If a man or a woman is content to cling to impure speech and deeds they will not find their Maker, for He is pure.

    In my opinion there needs to be a hunger and thirst for purity for God Himself is pure. Praise the pure One daily and you will know you are doing the right thing!

    Psalm 100:4-5

    4 Enter into his (God’s) gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name.

    5 For the Lord is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations.

  3. Greetings, Irving! Thank you for sharing this interesting topic with us.
    For many years I’ve been blessed to understand that Our Creator never behaves unjustly, so when we hunger and thirst to speak and behave justly He blesses us with a fuller understanding of His character.

    Have a productive year.

    Josef

Leave a Reply

