Thirteen Enemies

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

“Declare your jihad (the greater struggle) on thirteen enemies. The ones (twelve) you cannot see – egoism, arrogance, conceit, selfishness, greed, lust, intolerance, anger, lying, cheating, gossiping and slandering. If you can master and destroy them, then you will be ready to fight the enemy you can see.”

―Imam al-Ghazali

Ya Haqq!


3 Responses to Thirteen Enemies

  1. E DEMKIW says:

    This is ABSOLUTELY the very BEST post that I have received from you, although very many have really been superlative thus far. I do appreciate receiving your posts, and have saved up a sizable number of them. Keep it up. EdD.

  2. Alim says:

    Only 12 listed. 13?

  3. Irving says:

    Yes, Alim, Imam al-Ghazali lists 12 that you CANNOT see, and when you have conquered those, you will be ready to face the ONE you CAN see. Together, they make 13. Now who is the one you can see? Since you have won your struggle with the nafs, it is not yourself that is your enemy any longer. it is those who still struggle, the greedy, the vain, the arrogant, the liars and cheats and violent.

    Ya Haqq!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: