Looking for God

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

“I tried to find Him on the Christian cross but He was not there. I went to the Temple of the Hindus and to the old pagodas but I could not find a trace of Him anywhere. I searched on the mountains and in the valleys but neither in the heights nor in the depths was I able to find Him. I went to the Kaaba in Mecca but He was not there either. I questioned the scholars and philosophers but He was beyond their understanding. I then looked into my heart and it was there where He dwelt that I saw Him. He was nowhere else to be found.”

– Rumi

Ya Haqq!

5 Responses to Looking for God

  1. cavemum says:

    Salams Darvish! I have a request…do you happen to have the original Farsi for a poem that is usually attributed to Rumi but I believe was in fact written by Abi’l Kheir:

    Come, come again!
    Whever you are
    unbeliever, Magian or polytheist,
    ours is not a caravan (or door, or court) of despair.
    Even if you have broken your promise a hundred times,
    come, come again!

    It’s for a calligraphy project. I would be really appreciative if you could point me in the direction of an online resource for the poems of Rumi (and other Sufi poets) with the original Persian. Thankyou!

  2. Josef Sefton says:

    Dear Irving, you certainly know how to capture my interest.
    My approach is to desire to let God reveal Himself to me. I commit myself to be more patient and kind. I commit myself to trust Him and be more self controlled. I commit myself to listen to Him, whilst He takes the initiative and teaches me to do good and be more gracious.
    May God reward our efforts to look for Him.

  3. Salam, it is a nice post, everything depends upon the clarity of heart whether one can find God or not. The only thing that matters is intention.

  4. Irving says:

    Dear Cavemum, I have emailed you privately with the information :) And to Brother Joseph and Sister Hijab, thank you for the comments. Indeed, there is an old Sufi story about the wandering dervish who stopped by a khaniqah one day and the Sufi Master asked him the purpose of his journey. “I am looking for God,” the dervish said. The Sufi Master asked, “Where did you look that you did not find Him?”

    Ya Haqq!

  5. White Pearl says:

    Love this verse by Rumi….. He was a true Sufi….. Beautiful ! I am in the same search as you are…. The search of divine. I just stumbled upon here and I will read more of your posts for sure.
    Following you. Thanks for this brilliant share !

Leave a Reply

