Author Interview

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

Now that Brother Ismail has mentioned it in his comment on the Rumi’s Birthday post, a reporter for OhMyNews International, an online news wire service, interviewed me recently about the writing of Master of the Jinn.

You can read the interview at OhMyNews.

And to those readers that are authors of fiction, non-fiction or a book of poetry, and would also like to be interviewed, please contact Ambrose Musiyiwa by clicking on the Contact Reporter button just below the title of the interview, On the Sufi Path.

Good fortune to us all who work by the pen.

Ya Haqq!

Note: Also check out the kind comments about Master of the Jinn on the Ghost blog.

14 Responses to Author Interview

  1. April Girl says:

    Salaam brother Darvish!

    Thank you for all your writings! I learn so much! : ) I just placed my order for ‘Master of the Jinn’, I can’t wait to read!

    I hope you’re enjoying this Blessed Month : )

  2. mshahin says:

    Mashallah!

    I just read the interview. Very beautiful and inspiring. I was really interested in your path to writing. Inshallah your next book, Tale of Jinn will be another sucess and blessed by Allah.

    Salaam

  3. saly says:

    Oh Mabrook dear brother! This is great. I loved it! Thank you so much for sharing.

    And now I know what you look like so in case I bump into you somewhere, somehow I’ll hug you straightaway! :-D

  4. shaharazed says:

    Salaams,

    I just finished reading the excerpt of your book. MashaAllah, It was wonderful! There are so many lessons and reminders throughout the excerpt. I like how you interweaved the wisdom of the sufis into the main character. It helps to explain some of the sayings and makes them more meaningful. Valuable information and reminders for fellow travelers.

  5. Ya Haqq Brother Irving

    Your words is delightful for me always.

    May Haqq guard your secrets.

  6. darvish says:

    Salaam Dear Brothers and Sister:
    Thank you all for the kind and generous words :) We are all writers as well as seekers, and so may Allah guide our pens, for His pen is cut from the reedbed of the heart, and therein lies the Truth.
    Ya Haqq!

  7. seeker94 says:

    Salaam Irving!
    What a timely reminder – I’d forgotten that your book is available on Amazon.com. My sister who lives in the USA had earlier kindly offered to get me some books from Amazon.com and send them over to me through another relative. I’ve just e-mailed her to include your novel with the other books she is getting me. Insha Allah I’ll get your book next month. I can’t wait to read it!
    I enjoyed reading your interview. It feels good to know a little more about you! :)

  8. Abdur Rahman says:

    Salaams Brother Irving,

    I read the interview. Ma sha Allah, a fascinating and inspiring tale.

    What led you to the Nimatullahi order?

    Abdur Rahman

  9. Maliha says:

    Salamaat,
    Mashaallah, thanks for sharing that..May this window and many others open doors of opportunity for you.

    I was disheartened that such a gemstone like yours did get rejected by publishers and you had to go on the self publishing route (which selfishly makes me despair of getting my paltry stuff published).

    Ah, Allah in all His wisdom knows best; and while they might not be ready for it; right this minute; Inshaallah soon someone wise enough in the industry will see how awesome your work is. (amin).

  10. Irving says:

    Salaam Dear Seeker, Abdur and Maliha:
    Thank you all for the kind words :) Though the book is self-published in English, it is also traslated into Russian, and soon into Bahasa for Indonesia, and into Turkish and Malayalam, for the Kerala State of India. So it will be the most translated self-published book that I know of :) It is all as Allah wills, and inshallah, the book will find its way into the hands of those it is meant to.
    And dear Sister Maliha, you are a much better writer than I am, so do not worry about your book being published. I look forward to ordering my signed copy :)

    Ya Haqq!

  11. UmmAli says:

    Congratulations Brother. InshaAllah I plan to order your book as an Eid gift for my husband, and myself of course.

  12. mshahin says:

    Salaam Brother Irving,

    Jazzakum Allahkhair for linking to our blogs :-) Honored to be on your blogroll!

    Wa Salaam

  13. yasmine says:

    Salaam, brother Irving! It’s been too long since I was here, unfortunately, so I did a lot of scrolling to catch up on old posts. =) I hope Ramadan has been a beautiful, blessed month for you so far inshaAllah.

    Congratulations on the interview! I thoroughly enjoyed reading that. My favorite part was where you said:

    Sometimes I would wait for six months between inspirations, until I read enough or learned enough, or something happened in my life and meditation that led me to the next sentence. It was a process of learning and becoming, of growing with the book.

  14. Sadiq says:

    Saalam and it was lovely to read the interview. i loved it.

    many questions answered. but many new curiosity started… hope to interview u oneday soon.

Leave a Reply

