“… in need of the alms of my own kindness…”

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

“The acceptance of oneself is the essence of the whole moral problem and the epitome of a whole outlook on life. That I feed the hungry, that I forgive an insult, that I love my enemy in the name of Christ – all these are undoubtedly great virtues. What I do unto the least of my brethren, that I do unto Christ. But what if I should discover that the least among them all, the poorest of all the beggars, the most impudent of all the offenders, the very enemy himself – that these are within me, and that I myself stand in need of the alms of my own kindness – that I myself am the enemy who must be loved – what then? As a rule, the Christian’s attitude is then reversed; there is no longer any question of love or long-suffering; we say to the brother within us “Raca,” and condemn and rage against ourselves. We hide it from the world; we refuse to admit ever having met this least among the lowly in ourselves.”

-Carl Jung, Memories, Dreams, Reflections

Note:  Raca, a Biblical term of Aramaic origin used in Matthew 5:22. Its meaning is “worthless”, “vain”, “empty”. It is a word of contempt towards an object that is depised.

3 Responses to “… in need of the alms of my own kindness…”

  1. Tracy says:

    An important post! I am always afraid that however I judge myself will one day lead me to inadvertently judge another person. Forgiving myself is practice for me to forgive others. It was lovely to see a post alluding to this feeling!

  2. Irving says:

    Thank you for the comment, Tracy :) Indeed, forgiving yourself is the first step in forgiving and not judging others.

  3. James says:

    Greetings Irving!
    Yes. It is so important to be kind on yourself. If we are not kind on ourself we can turn on ourself with unfair criticism and self harming thinking.

    Man is very vulnerable, this why we need to turn to God for He is kind and can restore our soul.

    Many people we meet in life will not be overly kind to us. We shouldn’t follow their lead. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 340 other followers

