Surrendering to Love

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

Surrendering to love is the hardest damn work I have ever done in my life. Put me working in prisons to teach murderers how to give good massages or give me tortured women who haven’t slept without nightmares in ten years, but don’t ask me to be open and receive tender loving care of someone who is going to know all my dirty laundry and stick around anyway!

Why is it so hard? Well, I guess I’ve just been on the road so long I don’t know the difference between my feet and my boots and here comes someone to offer a foot rub and I gotta’ feel how tired my feet are and how long I‘ve been wanting some good touch and lay down all those other times of disappointment and confusion and let this in without overwhelming myself or anyone else with grief and longing. I didn’t learn how to do this at home or school. Did you? It takes a combination of mercy and love we give ourselves.

- John Calvi, from True Love, The Friends (Quaker) Journal, 1992

Ya Haqq!

6 Responses to Surrendering to Love

  1. Safiyyah says:

    Salaams Dear Irving:

    Sometimes working with others actually allows us to ignore our own needs. Since I work in prison, I have to be constantly aware of this :)

  2. Rabu says:

    nice and it’s true mostly in cases of men.

  3. Irving says:

    Salaam Dear Sisters:

    Thank you for your comments :) I know that what you say is true Safiyyah, that working and serving others brings out the love in us, and also that what you say is true, Rabu, at least for this man :) I still do not think I could have surrendered to love if not for my wife, and for the immense gift of light and love that Master instilled in my heart. Alhamdulillah!

    Ya Haqq!

  4. Talat Halman says:

    Thank you John, I relate very deeply and closely with your testimony. I know what it’s like to be loved in spite of my “dirty laundry.” Thanks to God for that love. I need to relay this message in my own words to my beloved. Thanks for igniting the conversation.

  5. zapira says:

    Assalamualaikum,
    Nice posting. Spread Islam even with one word throughout the entire world, please!

  6. Don Moorman says:

    Thanks for sharing this; I was raised by Quakers.

    And it’s a relevant reminder for this man. :)

    Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 307 other followers

