In Memory of Dr. Javad Nurbakhsh

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

October 10th is the one year anniversary of the death of Dr. Javad Nurbakhsh, for over 50 years the Master of the Nimatullahi Sufi Order, and for 17 years, my Master (may God bless his soul and raise him to the highest rank of His beloveds).

To commemorate the occasion, his own poem is a fitting tribute to his life and station:

My heart holds Your home,

my head desiring You;

Night and day have all passed,

while I am pledged to You.

I have suffered at the hand

of the people of the time;

In the world I’ve only seen

fidelity from You.

I’ve been drunk with Your wine

Since pre-eternity;

I’m surrendered to Your will

till post-eternity.

I’ve no hope for heaven

or for the Resurrection;

I have never wanted

anyone but You.

Once I realized that in reality

the Path cannot be traveled

Except on Your feet,

I lost both my head and feet.

With every breath I take

I am conscious of You;

I gave up heart and soul

for contentment from You.

If, like Nurbakhsh, you have pledged

yourself wholeheartedly to God;

The creation then will be ready

to pledge itself to you.

- from the Divan of Dr. Javad Nurbakhsh

Ya Haqq!

3 Responses to In Memory of Dr. Javad Nurbakhsh

  1. Achelois says:

    I remember this time two years ago. It has been two years. May God bless your Master’s soul, dear brother Irving.

  2. Amir Hossein says:

    SALAMMMMMMM, Thank You very Much ,i opened Divan of the pir and have read the first stanzas of all the sonnets to find this in persian, and you are the reason of this great Honor DARVISH to see lights….Thank You very much THE Great Brother and Grand PA and Teacher IRVING,
    Here You Are
    در دل مرا سرای تو در سر هوای تو
    روز و شبم گذشت سراسر برای تو
    جور و جفا کشیده ام از خلق روزگار
    هرگز ندیده ام به جهان جز وفای تو
    بودیم از ازل همه سر مست باده ات
    باشیم تا ابد همه تسلیم رای تو
    ما را به جنت و قیامت امید نیست
    هرگز نخواسته ایم کسی را به جای تو
    بی پاو سر شدیم چو دیدم در عمل
    نتوان سپرد راه تو الا به پای تو
    هر دم که می زنیم به یاد تو می زنیم
    دادیم جان و دل به بهای رضای تو
    کردی چو نور بخش تو خود را فدای حق
    خلقی بر آن سر است که گردد فدای تو

    یا حق
    YA HAGH

  3. reza says:

    ای عجب! این راه نه راه خداست زانکه در آن اهرمنی رهنماست
    قافله بس رفت از این راه، لیک کس نشد آگاه که مقصد کجاست
    راهروانی که درین معبرند فکرتشان یکسره آز و هواست
    . . .
    نفس، بسی وام گرفت و نداد وام تو چون باز دهد؟ بینواست
    خانه‌ی جان هرچه توانی بساز هرچه توان ساخت درین یک بناست
    کعبه‌ی دل مسکن شیطان مکن پاک کن این خانه که جای خداست
    پیرو دیوانه شدن ز ابلهی است موعظت دیو شنیدن خطاست
    تا بودت شمع حقیقت بدست راه تو هرجا که روی روشناست

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 356 other followers

