Two Favorites for Poetry Monday

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

For the occasional Poetry Monday, here are two old favorites.

Atlas

i am used to the heft of it
sitting against my rib,
used to the ridges of forest,
used to the way my thumb
slips into the sea as i pull
it tight; something is sweet
in the thick odor of flesh
burning and sweating and bearing young.
i have learned to carry it
the way a poor man learns
to carry everything.

- Lucille Clifton

I have always known
that at last I would
take this road, but yesterday
I did not know that it would be today.

- Narihira (9th century Japan), translated by Kenneth Rexroth

Ya Haqq!

3 Responses to Two Favorites for Poetry Monday

  1. Micah Lacsamana says:

    Very nice! This is a wonderful blog… I had a great time browsing and reading your posts.

  2. Achelois says:

    Thank you, brother. Very nice poems. I too can deeply relate to Narihira’s poem.

  3. UTP says:

    yesterday I did not know that it would be today… beautiful…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 336 other followers

