You only have what you give!

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

Paralyzed and silent in her bed, my daughter Paula taught me a lesson that is now my mantra: You only have what you give. It’s by spending yourself that you become rich. …The pain of losing my child was a cleansing experience. I had to throw overboard all excess baggage and keep only what is essential. Because of Paula, I don’t cling to anything anymore. Now I like to give much more than I receive. I am happier when I love than when I am loved. I adore my husband, my son, my grandchildren, my mother, my dog, and frankly I don’t know if they even like me. But who cares? Loving them is my joy.

Give, give, give–what is the point of having experience, knowledge, or talent if I don’t give it away? Of having stories if I don’t tell them to others? Of having wealth if I don’t share it? I don’t intend to be cremated with any of it! It is in giving that I connect with others, with the world, and with the divine. In is in giving that I feel the spirit of my daughter inside me, like a soft presence.

- Isabel Allende, Chilean novelist, journalist, and dramatist.

Ya Haqq!

10 Responses to You only have what you give!

  1. dimas says:

    Salam alaikum Brother Irving :-)

    When I read Isabel words, suddenly it reminds me the prayer of St. Francis of Assisi

    Lord, make me an instrument of Thy peace;
    where there is hatred, let me sow love;
    where there is injury, pardon;
    where there is doubt, faith;
    where there is despair, hope;
    where there is darkness, light;
    and where there is sadness, joy.

    O Divine Master,
    grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console;
    to be understood, as to understand;
    to be loved, as to love;
    for it is in giving that we receive,
    it is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
    and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.

    Amen.

    Wassalamualaikum

  2. DrDeb says:

    Breathtaking.

  3. Lilian says:

    :-)

  4. Assalamu Alaikum, how are you, Sir? hope you will be doing fine. May Allah bless you and your students. Amen

  5. anonymous says:

    So delightful to read this hearty paragraph from Isabel’s book this morning! Thank you for putting it up in your blog! I check your blog once in while when I have some moments of free time and my mind feels like reading something out of heart. I have read the whole book by Allende a while ago and it was a striking heart to heart arrow. Thank you for bringing her up this morning, it’s delightful and lovely to read her words again, they still strike the same, maybe warmer this time!

    Have a wonderful day, A

  6. MysticSaint says:

    Ah what a wonderful sharing.

    Peace and blessings to all and to Dervish bhai and Dervisha. :)

  7. Marley says:

    Irving:

    Thank you so much for sharing this.

    Marley

  8. Hajar Alwi says:

    Beautiful wisdom. One can never go wrong by giving, giving and just giving. The hand that gives is far more valued than the hand that receives. :)

  9. [...] feel much honored to be tracking back another post from [...]

  10. Maithri says:

    Blessings of love and peace dear brother,

    Never were truer words spoken,

    May the God of love spread His wings over you and yours and keep you safe always,

    Maithri

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 343 other followers

