The Cell Phone vs The Quran

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

Our Sister Safiyyah, of the excellent Shaalom 2 Salaam blog, received this email and posted it. There was no author attributed to it, but with her permission I pass it on as a question most worthy of consideration in the modern era.

CELL PHONE vs. QURAN

Ever wonder what would happen if we treated our Quran like we treat
our cell phone?

What if we carried it around in our purses or pockets?

What if we flipped through it several time a day?

What if we turned back to go get it if we forgot it?

What if we used it to receive messages from the text?

What if we treated it like we couldn’t live without it?

What if we gave it to kids as gifts?

What if we used it when we traveled?

What if we used it in case of emergency?

This is something to make you go….hmm…where is my Quran?

Oh, and one more thing.

Unlike our cell phone, we don’t have to worry about our Quran being disconnected.

And there are no dropped calls!

Ya Haqq!

11 Responses to The Cell Phone vs The Quran

  1. RLP says:

    replace the Quran with the bible and you’ve just about got it right.

  2. Irving says:

    Greetings of Peace Dear RLP:

    I think the cell phone analogy can be applied to any Holy Book.

    Ya Haqq!

  3. ned says:

    Nice metaphor!

    I do carry a pocket version of my favorite holy book, Savitri (an epic poem by Sri Aurobindo), everywhere I go. It’s a good habit, for sure.

    Btw I had to message you on Facebook … I couldn’t meet you that Thursday as I was smack-dab in the middle of mid-terms. Seems we just can’t seem to run into each other! Perhaps something will be arranged soon enough … :-)

    Peace be with you, brother.

  4. Aafke says:

    It’s great!
    I usually don’t go back for my cell-phone btw ;)

    But my cellphone is a lot smaller than my bible or my Quran…

  5. Hajar Alwi says:

    Assalamualaikum,

    Briefly recall receiving a similar email. Alhamdulillah, these days I bring the Yusuf Ali pocket-sized Quran edition. It’s handy since I’ve always wanted to finish reading the translations. :)

    W’salam,
    Hajar

  6. Zunaira says:

    May Allah guide everyone.

  7. Naina says:

    may Allah guide every one and save momin

  8. Naina says:

    Allah save live for his people so dont be affraid

  9. Awan says:

    Assalam-o-Alykum!

    Allah is the Greatest. He protects and will protect Muslims/Momins. Quran is a Marvelous book all over the world…

  10. salam, salam. says:

    mashaAllah!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 356 other followers

