Patience, Prayer, and Love – A Resolution for the New Year

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

Seek help in patience and prayer; and truly it is hard save for the humble-minded,
Who know that they will have to meet their Lord, and unto Him they are returning.

(Quran 2:45-46)

Patience and prayer, two attributes that lift the foot in humility to take a step on the path of Love. Prayer by the Sufi zekr, with each inhalation and exhalation of the breath, and patience forged of acceptance of all that happens, in the certain knowledge that to Him we are returning.

In the Mathnawi, Rumi writes that a piece of iron when kept for long in the fire begins not only to look like fire, but to burn like fire. This is the soul purified by patience and prayer, which are each an act of love. Love is the fire that lights the Way.

And this is my resolution for the New Year. God give me the strength to be steadfast, to be resolute, in patience and prayer and love. Amin.

What are your resolutions  for this New Year of 2009/1430?

Ya Haqq!

10 Responses to Patience, Prayer, and Love – A Resolution for the New Year

  1. Marahm says:

    I did not have any resolutions for the new year, until I read this post. Now, I ask you to share your resolutions with me.

    “God give me the strength to be steadfast, to be resolute, in patience and prayer and love. Amin.”

  2. Maithri says:

    Dear Brother,

    Every time I come here, I learn something.

    I take away an image, a prayer, a gift…. to help me in my living…

    What a blessing you are to this world,

    May an ocean of blessings be yours,

    Peace and light dear brother, Maithri

  3. priya says:

    Happy New Year Dear Brother….
    again i have learnt something new from your post….patience and prayer….
    thank you .

  4. lovepeace says:

    wonderful post for the new year, brother! masha’allah!

    mine is to turn always to Allah while walking the way of Love.

  5. Tasmiya says:

    I purposely make my resolutions vague so that I can’t be sure if I’ve broken them or not, or make trivial resolutions like, stop biting my nails. This year I will make the same resolution as yours – to be steadfast in prayer and in patience.

    Thank you for this wonderful post. :)

  6. Umm Bilal says:

    Assalamu alaikum Dear Irving Darvish,
    I seek to work on enhancing these three essentials, patience, prayer and love with more sincerity and deepen my submission to the One from whence these flow, Insha’Allah. May you and yours be caressed with echoes of all the good you share here, Ameen.
    Wassalamu alaikum

  7. Nasir Ali says:

    Indeed, patience and prayers do help us in confronting and overcoming our problems. There’s no doubt about it. For Allah is the most Merciful of the Mercifuls.

  8. Irvingi says:

    Salaam Dear Sisters and Brothers:

    Thank you all for kind comments and sharing your own resolutions :) May Allah give us the strength to succeed. Ameen.

    Those who believe and do right:
    joy is for them and bliss their
    journey’s end.

    -Quran 13:29

    Ya Haqq!

  9. Abdur Rahman says:

    Salams Irving bhai

    Amin, amin, amin… Ya Allah! Amin

  10. bstendlert says:

    May Allah strengthen the brilliance of His purifying Light and Love, engulfing the whole globe and all of mankind. Amin.

    All the best!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 359 other followers

