A Teaching of Jesus (pbuh)

Salaam and Greeting of Peace:

Jesus (pbuh) said:

So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.

- Luke 11:9

Ya Haqq!

9 Responses to A Teaching of Jesus (pbuh)

  1. Shahrzad says:

    Remind me of the Aya:

    وَقَالَ رَبُّكُمُ ادْعُونِي أَسْتَجِبْ لَكُمْ

    “And your Lord says: ‘Call on Me; I will answer your Prayer'” (40:60)

  2. Marahm says:

    I remember learning this many years ago, when I was a child. The meaning of it has sunken in by now, but shall I say “meanings,” (in the plural)? Indeed, this short verse holds many. One can learn them again and again.

  3. Ismail Radpour says:

    Salaam

    When I saw on cover of persian translation of Lings’s “What is Sufism” writen this words of Jesus (pbuh) I become confused, but soon I understood it is really summary of Sufism and best choice for the translator.

    Ya Haqq!

  4. Maithri says:

    Blessings of peace to you and your family dear brother,

    These words are so powerful.

    To ask. And then to know without any doubt that it will be given…. These are the mechanics of creation.

    May we all learn this lesson again and again,

    Blessing you with love,

    Maithri

  5. melisa says:

    Salaam, and peace to you.

    This is the first Muslim blog that is really notable for me, a peace-loving Christian. No hate, no rants, no sarcasm, just peace.

    Please keep it up.

  6. Irving says:

    Salaam Dear Sisters and Brothers:

    Thank you for the kind comments. The Sufis believe that Jesus (pbuh) was the perfect human being, filled with kindness, mercy and love for all creation, and Brother Ismail is correct when he note that this saying is the perfect summary of Sufism, that is, of having complete trust in God.

    And Melisa, thank you so much for stopping by :) I revere my Christian brothers and sisters as I do my Muslim ones, and my Jewish ones, and my Buddhist ones. We are all children of God, who love and struggle in His name.

    Ya Haqq!

  7. Diane says:

    A little girl I knew who lived next door to me took this scripture literally. (Her grandfather was a Christian minister, so the little girl listened to his church sermons regularly.) One day at home, she was in the bathroom with the door closed, and someone in the house was on the other side of the door. The person was knocking to see if anyone was occupying the bathroom. The child was convinced it was Jesus knocking, and when she went to let him in, he had vanished. She told the story to everyone.

    This was a couple of years ago, and she still believes it surely was Jesus. Thought you’d like to know of this cute story of a child’s pure innocence belief in this scripture.

  8. darvish says:

    Greetings of Peace Dear Diane:

    Thank you for sharing that heartwarming story of the little girl who was certain it was Jesus knocking on her door :) I do not doubt her at all, as I have also had such experiences. It is all part of the mystery of life, of God, of faith, and of Love :)

    Ya Haqq!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 355 other followers

