On Death

Death is not extinguishing the light;
it is only putting out the lamp
because the dawn has come.

- Rabindranath Tagore

Ya Haqq!

24 Responses to On Death

  1. Achelois says:

    Tagore is just amazing.

  2. shadduli says:

    ah! so beautifully put.

    really humbled to be from the land of Tagore! may God bless his soul.

  3. Katib says:

    Assalamualaikum Br darvish

    Beautiful poetry. This reminds me of the Holy Prophet saying about death- “people are asleep and they wake up upon their death.”

    God Bless you

    katib

  4. Shahrzad says:

    “I slept and dreamt that life was joy. I awoke and saw that life was service. I acted and behold, service was joy.” -Rabindranath Tagore

  5. akash says:

    Very beautifully said .

    Akash

  6. Barbara Simpson-L. says:

    That is profound…I hadn’t read that one. Thanks for sharing, and Shahrazad’s was great also.

  7. Dipti says:

    Just wonderful and beautiful .. thanks for sharing dear brother

  8. Aafke says:

    This is very comforting.
    I liked Katibs quotation very much too.
    And Shahrazad’s too :D

  9. Krishna.N.c says:

    Beloved Brother Irving,
    Such is the beauty of words…the most dreaded and painful seeming Death has been given a heavenly feel !! My humble respects for Tagore’s blessed soul… Death is the time to shut the doors of this life and finally meet Him waiting with open arms for us…From Him we come and to Him we shall return :)
    Wonderful brother ..
    My love and prayers for you always :)

  10. Irving says:

    Salaam Dear Sisters and Brothers:

    Thank you for the comments :) Indeed, as the blessed Tagore says, this life is a lamp, and soon enough, as Allah wills, the dawn will come for each of us.

    And as Shahrzad also shares from him, it is service to others that brings joy in this life, and makes the lamp of our lives shine all the brighter :)

    My love to you all :)

    Ya Haqq!

  11. Amina says:

    very true…it’s part of life. I am not afraid of death but process of dying…

  12. Maithri says:

    Dearest Brother,

    This has long been my favourite quote on the subject of death,

    Thank you for sharing it here…

    You are the light that shines in the dark night,

    God bless you dear Brother, M

  13. Joubin Houshyar says:

    Salaam Amina,

    The poem is not about physical death.

    /& Salaam

  14. brilliant, the great Tagore!

  15. Abdul Muneer says:

    Masha Allah..
    Katib connected it correctly.
    May Allah take us all to the dawn.
    Salaams to you all.

  16. almiskeenah says:

    Assalamu alaikum Dear Irving Darvish,
    may the light of this dawn illuminate us all, blinding all the dross,
    Wassalamu alaikum

  17. Tasmiya says:

    LOVE IT! Thanks for the link, too. I did not know who Tagore was.

  18. Abdur Rahman says:

    Salaams Irving bhai

    Jazak Allah for this quote. It is very beautiful.

    Allah!

    Abdur Rahman bhai

  19. harmonie22 says:

    Oh, how lovely. Rabindranath Tagore is a poet I have only recently discovered, he is sublime. Thanks for sharing and inspiring.

  20. Marahm says:

    I lost my father one month ago. The only concept that cools my grief is that which is expressed in this lovely poem. Still, no one has come back to tell about it…May Allah forgive me, but a particle of doubt remains.

  21. Irving says:

    Salaam Dear Brothers and Sisters:

    Thank you all for the kind comments :) And Sister Marahm, I am so sorry about the loss of your dear father. I will add you and your family in my prayers, and say one also for your father. And of course a particle of doubt remains, we are human after all.

    I can only share my own near death experience, for what it is worth, and hope that it may help ease your heart: Here is an old post about my Out of Body experience.

    http://darvish.wordpress.com/2007/10/21/my-out-of-body-experience-a-true-story/

    Ya Haqq!

  22. Marahm says:

    Thank you, Irving, and thank you for directing me to your post. I found your experience interesting, and in keeping with many similar reports of NDEs. I do not doubt any of it. I know one other person who had an NDE, and I, myself, have had one out-of-body experience. It wasn’t very dramatic, nor an NDE, but it gave me a taste of what lies beyond the physical expression of our lives.

    During my father’s last moments, he saw something. All of us present at his bedside realized that he became fully conscious, after having been unresponsive for the previous three days.

    The next week, my mother said , “He is with his Lord,” and I said, “Then why are we crying?” I did not express my fear–that we cry because we doubt, in spite of the evidence of NDEs and the existence of religious systems throughout the history of humanity.

    However, I could not bear the loss of my father without holding fast to the image in this poem, an image which is stated beautifully in many ways, across many traditions.

  23. Irving says:

    My Dear Sister Marahm:

    Thank you for comment, and for sharing your father’s last moments with us, as well as your grief. Why we cry if the departed are now with their Lord, is a good question.

    It may be that we have doubts of a life after this one. Or it may be out of our sense of loss for their earthly presence, which is more likely. That is the cause of our tears and our heartache, as I know well.

    I can only tell you that my own experiences leave me no doubt about the beauty and value of this life, or about the worth of the path of Love and the life to come.

    May God bless the soul of your dear father, and raise him to the ranks of His beloveds.
    Amen.

    Ya Haqq!

  24. Marahm says:

    Thank you, Irving. I trust your conviction, which is borne of deep experience, and I allow for the hope–no, the probability– that I can affirm the same conviction some day, with clarity and surety.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 307 other followers

