The Prayer of Guidance

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

The Prophet (pbuh) has said:

“If one of you is concerned about some practical undertaking, or about making plans for a journey, he should perform two Rakats (cycles) of voluntary prayer. Then he should say the following dua:”

O Allah! I seek Your guidance by virtue of Your knowledge, and I seek ability by virtue of Your power, and I ask You of Your great bounty. You have power; I have none. And You know; I know not. You are the Knower of hidden things.

O Allah! If in Your knowledge this matter is good for my religion, my livelihood and my affairs, immediate and in the future, then ordain it for me, make it easy for me, and bless it for me. And if in Your knowledge this matter is bad for my religion, my livelihood and my affairs, immediate and in the future, then turn it away from me, and turn me away from it. And ordain for me the good wherever it may be, and make me content with it.

- Called the Salat-ul-Istikhara, or The Prayer of Guidance, it is adapted from the excellent and beneficial Simply Islam blog.

Ya Haqq!

7 Responses to The Prayer of Guidance

  1. Farhana says:

    As-salaamu’alaykum wa Rahmatu Llahi wa Barakatuhu my dearest brother,

    Jazak’Allah for another excellent and beneficial post.

    Salat-ul-Istikhara.. ahh, the powerful salat which seems to be covered with dust these days :(
    … if only we realized

    Wa’alaykum as-salaam
    Farhana

  2. MysticSaint says:

    mashallah! thanks for it.

  3. Achelois says:

    Thanks brother!

  4. Maithri says:

    Dear Brother Irving,

    Amen to this beautiful prayer,

    “Ordain me for the good wherever I find it” – this gives me chills,

    Blessing you today precious brother for all the love that you breathe in to the world,

    Love and peace, Maithri

  5. Irving says:

    Salaam Dear Sisters and Brothers:

    Thank you for the kind comments :) Here is another prayer of the Prophet (pbuh) that should go along with it:

    “I seek refuge in Allah from knowledge that brings no wisdom, from a heart that lacks kindness, from desires that bring discontent, and from supplications that go unanswered.”

    -The Prophet Muhammad (SAW)

    Ya Haqq!

  6. Farhana says:

    As-salaamu’alaykum wa Rahmatu Llahi wa Barakatuhu brother Irving,

    Jazak’Allah for the dua’ you have just added, very much appreciated.

    I just listened to this: http://www.halaltube.com/abdul-bary-yahya/video/divine-gps masha’Allah, it’s a great lecture..and talks about Salat-ul-Istikhara. Enjoy.

    Wa’alaykum as-salaam
    Farhana

  7. Umm Yusuf says:

    Assalaamu Alaikum warahatmullahi wabarakatuhu,

    Thank you for posting! Jazak Allahu Khairan!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 356 other followers

