The Beggar – For the Last Days of Ramadan

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

Is there anyone who can give something to this beggar? A whole heart? Is there anyone giving away a pure, whole heart?”

For a whole heart, I would give the life of this world: every moment of monotone emotion felt, every numb pleasure that kills my soul, every restless feeling that eats away inside.

For a whole heart, I would give away all my broken dreams, gathering each piece from it’s scattered place, blown in every direction by the winds of confusion and desire.

For a whole heart, I would give all of my bitter tears, shed from mistaken hurts and affected wrongs, or complexities that I myself constructed.

For a whole heart, I would give my own tongue that speaks ill instead of truth.

I would give my very eyes, that see the night sky in all its splendor and that still chooses slumber over vigil. I would give my soul, troubled and heavy, always foolishly choosing darkness over Light.

But who would accept this currency or this exchange?

I’m just a poor beggar, with nothing to give. Instead, I depend on the compassion of the Owner to fulfill my needs, and be generous with me, though I have nothing to give Him in return; my worthless possessions clutched tight.

____________

- From our dear brother at the spiritual and beautiful Darwisiy Blog. His words bring tears to the eyes of this unworthy darvish. May Allah the most merciful forgive us our blindness in the light of His truth, and our ignorance when He gives us knowledge so freely. Amin.

Ya Haqq!

9 Responses to The Beggar – For the Last Days of Ramadan

  1. Shahrzad says:

    Beautiful.. Beautiful..

  2. Achelois says:

    For a whole heart…

    beautiful!

  3. Achelois says:

    Oh, and you are tagged :)

  4. leila says:

    heart melting…

  5. almiskeenah says:

    Assalamu alaikum dear Irving Darvish,
    exquisitively emotive for these final moments, soul felt appreciation to you and the Darwisiy Blog brother.
    Wassalamu alaikum

  6. Raza Rumi says:

    a whole heart :)
    how wonderful – thanks for this

  7. shree says:

    dear brother it is simply heart melting……………….beautiful beautiful
    Eid Mubarak

  8. azza05 says:

    Beautiful…..i can feel the pain in every sentence!

  9. sf says:

    Assalaam alaikum Brother Irving,

    How imploringly beautiful!
    a whole heart…..makes one cry in humility!

    Jazaak Allah to Brother of the Darwisiy Blog and yourself for sharing.

    sf

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 343 other followers

