Happy 800th Birthday Rumi – Sept. 30, 1207-2007

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

Molana Jalal-e din Mohammad Balkhi, commonly known as Rumi, was a Persian mystic of Islam, a Sufi. His doctrine advocates unlimited tolerance, positive reasoning, goodness, charity and awareness through love. His peaceful and tolerant teaching has appealed to men and women of all sects and creeds. As a love poet, he has no peer:

My Mother is Love        My Father is Love

My Prophet is Love      My God is Love

I am a child of Love     I have come only to speak of Love

Rumi was born on 30th of September 1207 in Balkh in today’s Afghanistan, then within the domains of the Persian Empire, and died on 17 December 1273 in Konya, in present-day Turkey, where he spent many years of his life. His body was laid to rest beside his father and a splendid shrine was erected there, which every year attracts a large number of pilgrims from all parts of the Muslim and non-Muslim world.

Happy Birthday Rumi :)

Ya Haqq!

13 Responses to Happy 800th Birthday Rumi – Sept. 30, 1207-2007

  1. Shahrzad says:

    I love Rumi so much. Spc two pieces of his poems:

    I’m Nobody! Who are you?
    Are you -Nobody- too?
    Then there’s pair of us guiding us!
    Don’t tell! they’d advertise – you know!
    How dreary -to be- Somebody !!!

    ***

    What is to be done, O Moslems? for I do not recognise myself.
    I am neither Christian, nor Jew, nor Gabr, nor Moslem.

    I am not of the East, nor of the West, nor of the land, nor of the sea;
    I am not of Nature’s mint, nor of the circling heaven.

    I am not of earth, nor of water, nor of air, nor of fire;
    I am not of the empyrean, nor of the dust, nor of existence, nor of entity.

    I am not of India, nor of China, nor of Bulgaria, nor of Saqsin
    I am not of the kingdom of Iraqian, nor of the country of Khorasan

    I am not of this world, nor of the next, nor of Paradise, nor of Hell
    I am not of Adam, nor of Eve, nor of Eden and Rizwan.

    My place is the Placeless, my trace is the Traceless..

  2. Irving says:

    How beautiful, dear Sister :) I wanted to include a hundred Rumi poems, but there are many Rumi links in the blogroll for those interested to find them all :)

    Ya Haqq!

  3. Achelois says:

    Happy Birthday Rumi!

  4. Apoplexy says:

    Rumi be praised!
    May the forces be around us.

  5. chaiwala says:

    Thank for reminding us of the birthday of Hz Mawlana.

  6. almiskeenah says:

    Assalamu alaikum,
    A great anniversary!

    “There are wild wandering Sufis
    called qalandars,
    who are constantly tickled with life.

    It’s scandalous how they love and laugh
    at any small event.

    People gossip about them, and that
    makes them deft in their cunning,
    but really a great God-wrestling goes on
    inside these wanderers, a flood of sunlight
    that’s drunk with the whole thing…”
    – Rumi
    Wassalamu alaikum

  7. lulando says:

    Zum Geburtstag viel Glück, Maulana ;) (He understands me now…)

  8. [...] 30th, 2007 by chaiwala September 30th is the birthday of Hz Mawlana Rumi. The excellent Darvish blog has a nice reminder too. Here’s a poem form the Diwan Shams-e-Tabrizi which offers an [...]

  9. Abdur Rahman says:

    Salaams Baba Darvish,

    Thank you for reminding us all.

    Ya Hazret-i Mevlana Hakk Dost!

    Abdur Rahman, a lover of Rumi

  10. [...] birthday (may Allah sanctify his secret)!  As Baba Darvish (aka Irving bhai) rightly observes, on September 30th 1207 Mevlana Rumi was born in Balkh (modern day [...]

  11. mshahin says:

    Rumi is one my favorite poets, but I had no idea it was his birthday! Thanks for reminding us :)

  12. Stranger says:

    Subhanallah !! How magical it would’ve been to be alive during Mawlana Rumi’s days

    The Root of the Root of Your Self

    Don’t go away, come near.
    Don’t be faithless, be faithful.
    Find the antidote in the venom.
    Come to the root of the root of yourself.

    - Love is indeed a Strange Stranger – lol :))

  13. behrooz says:

    بشنو از نی چون حکایت میکند از جدایی ها حکایت می کند
    از نیستان تا مرا ببریده اند از نفیرم مردو زن نالیده اند
    i am very glad for this is molana says persian.and this is my lovefor all of my life

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers

