A Sufi Poem

I begged for power and found it in knowledge
I begged for honor and found it in poverty
I begged for health and found it in asceticism
I begged my account be lessened before God
and found it in silence
I begged for consolation and found it in despair

- Ali Sahl Esfahani

12 Responses to A Sufi Poem

  1. Shahrzad says:

    He is from Isfahan and lived during 3rd century hijri Qamari there.

    His shrine and khaniqah: http://www.culturalcapital.blogsky.com/?PostID=47

    :)

  2. Irving says:

    Thank you so much for the information and link, dear Sister :) Though the blog is in Farsi, I think, the pictures are lovely. Inshallah, one day I will visit there.

    Ya Haqq!

  3. Achelois says:

    Very deep. Thank you

  4. blissful happiness says:

    may all the greatness of your hearts desires come true and they do.

    May love and happiness radiate from you and return back to you multiplied and it does.

    More bliss to you….

    and lots of love to you x x

  5. Merryweather says:

    wow! I love this poem… particularly the last line touched me deep :)

  6. lulando says:

    Let’s breathe it out.
    Let’s breathe it in.

    Alhamdullillah.

  7. Rabu says:

    Masallah!

    really nice.

  8. almiskeenah says:

    Assalamu alaikum dear Irving Darvish,
    Your moving post reminds me of the following found long ago somewhere on this super www….

    “I asked Allah for strength….
    And He gave me difficulties to make me strong.

    I asked Allah for wisdom….
    And He gave me problems to solve.

    I asked Allah for prosperity….
    And He gave me brain and brawn to work.

    I asked Allah for courage….
    And He gave me danger to overcome.

    I asked Allah for love….
    And He gave me troubled people to help.

    I asked Allah for favours….
    And He gave me opportunities.

    I received nothing I wanted…
    And I received everything I needed.”
    Wassalamu alaikum

  9. Rohi Padela says:

    Masha’Allah this was really deep and beautiful. I put in on my blog as well. :)

  10. Irving says:

    Thank you all for the kind comments, and thank you dear Sister Almiskeenah for the lovely poem :) And Rohi Padela, please use it. The poem is also actually used to begin the second chapter of the second part (the Journey) of Master of the Jinn.

    Ya Haqq!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers

