“The pens have been laid down, and the pages have dried.”

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

The Prophet (may the blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) said to Abdullah Ibn Abbas, who was riding behind him:

“Boy, I shall teach you something. Remember God and He will remember you. Remember God and you will find Him before you. If you have to ask, then ask of God, and if you have to seek help, then seek it of God. Understand well, that if the whole community joined together to benefit you, they could only benefit you in what God has decreed for you; and if they are joined together to harm you, they could only harm you in what God has decreed against you. The pens have been laid down, and the pages have dried”.

- A Hadith (tradition) found on the mystical Green Sufi blog.

Ya Haqq!

6 Responses to “The pens have been laid down, and the pages have dried.”

  1. Shahrzad says:

    Was beautiful hadith.. Remembered me a du’a:

    “O’ He from whom I can hope for all goodness
    And I am safe from His anger at every evil.
    He who gives a lot in exchange of a little.
    He who gives to one who asks Him.
    He who gives to one who does not ask Him and does not know Him,
    out of His affection and mercy.
    Give me, for my request is only to You alone, All the good of this world and all the good of the Hereafter.
    Keep away from me, for my request is only to You alone, All the evil of this world and the evil of the Hereafter.
    For indeed it is not diminishing what is given by You.
    Increase for me from Your bounty,
    O The Generous..”

    I love the dua so much.. And i loved the hadith you mentioned. Thank you :)

  2. Irving says:

    Beautiful dua, dear Sister :) Thank you for adding it to the comments. Please make dua for me and my family also.

    Ya Haqq!

  3. MysticSaint says:

    Mashallah!

    Alhamdulillah for such needly wisdom and a definite cure of our stress and worries of so called modern life of false dependency.

    Jazakallah khair for sharing and reminding. Salaam.

  4. mustahsin says:

    As-salamu alaykum,

    This is a beautiful hadith. I wish I were a good Muslim and internalize it.

  5. Umm Yasmin says:

    Ramadan Mubarak to you and your loved ones. I hope you are experiencing a blessed Ramadan with much felicity and nearness to the Beloved!

  6. amir says:

    Thank You

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 343 other followers

