Remember Me and I Will Remember You!

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

O you who believe! Fasting is prescribed to you as it was prescribed to those before so that you may attain taqwa. (2:183)

Alhumdulillah to be blessed with another Mubarak Ramadhan when our awe of Allah Ta’ala is constantly on the increase, SubhanAllah. Days when our yearning becomes delirious. Our love for Him overshadowing all else. Our seeking Him and His protection, His pleasure, His intimacy, His company, His refuge, His victory, His safety, His forgiveness, His mercy, His deliverance from the Fire, His awareness of our knocking at His door. The only door always open. May we come to His door carrying the following in our hearts.

Allah Ta’ala says:

“Remember Me with submission and resignation,

And I will remember you with the worthiest of preference.”

And whoever puts all his trust in Allah, He will suffice him. (65:3)

Remember Me with ardent yearning and loving affection,

And I will remember you with contact and nearness.

Remember Me with praise and adoration,

And I will remember you with favours and reward.

Remember Me with repentance,

And I will remember you with the forgiveness of sin.

Remember Me with supplication,

And I will remember you with giving.

Remember Me with asking,

And I will remember you with granting.

Remember Me without neglect,

And I will remember you without delay.

Remember Me with remorse,

And I will remember you with honour.

Remember Me with apology,

And I will remember you with forgiveness.

Remember Me with the intention,

And I will remember you with the implementation.

Remember Me with renunciation,

And I will remember you with gracious favour.

Remember Me with sincere devotion,

And I will remember you with salvation.

Remember Me with your hearts,

And I will remember you with relief from cares.

Remember Me with the tongue,

And I will remember you with security.

Remember Me with poverty,

And I will remember you with ability.

Remember Me with the plea for pardon and forgiveness,

And I will remember you with mercy and indulgence.

Remember Me with faith,

And I will remember you with the Garden of Paradise.

Remember Me with surrender,

And I will remember you with honour.

Remember Me with the heart,

And I will remember you with lifting the veil.

Remember Me with a fleeting remembrance,

And I will remember you with a permanent remembrance.

Remember Me with humble entreaty,

And I will remember you with connection.

Remember Me with self-abasement,

And I will remember you with the pardoning of errors.

Remember Me with virtue,

And I will remember you with the obliteration of guilt.

Remember Me with purity of the innermost being,

And I will remember you with the deliverance of piety.

Remember Me with truthfulness,

And I will remember you with sustenance.

Remember Me with clarity,

And I will remember you with pardon.

Remember Me with glorification,

And I will remember you with reverential treatment.

Remember Me with increasing frequency,

And I will remember you with deliverance and dignity.

Remember Me with abstinence from crudity,

And I will remember you with the assurance of fulfillment.

Remember Me with abstinence from error,

And I will remember you with all kinds of giving.

Remember Me with praise in service,

And I will remember you with the perfection of benefit.

Remember Me from where you are,

And I will remember you from where I am.

The remembrance of Allah is greater; And Allah knows the things you do. (29:45)

- From Shaikh Abd al-Qadir al-Jilani

Taken with gratitude from the most wonderful Almiskeenah blog.

Ya Haqq!

7 Responses to Remember Me and I Will Remember You!

  1. nisa says:

    Ramadan Mubarak, to you and your loved ones. May Allah swt bless and protect you and yours and accept your devotion. By the way, im afraid to be a mother, errr too late now, heh. Are you busy spoiling your lil one? Noor is growing up so fast, its amazing. On another totally unrelated note, this month i’ll be re-reading “The Master of the Jinn,” it makes my Ruh feel happy! :)

  2. Sumera says:

    Mash’Allah! Alhumdulillah :)

    Ramadhaan Mubarak to you and your loved ones Irving. May Allah accept your service, your devotion to Him! Ameeeeen.

  3. Aliana says:

    Nice, Masha’Allah Ramadan Mubarak to you brother. May you have a blessed Ramadan.

  4. Merryweather says:

    Salam,
    I loved this post & would want to read it time and again! :) Thank you for posting & thank you also to the Almiskeenah blog. And I also very much enjoyed the letter from your friend.
    Wish you & your loved ones a blessed ramadan!

  5. serenity says:

    Beautiful post, and beautiful heart in your blog. Over the last several weeks I have been practicing a remembrance meditation which has been profound in its impact,. I thank you for your always kind and loving words of inspiration.

  6. Irving says:

    Salaam and Greetings of Peace Dear Sisters:

    Thank you all for the kind comments :) I also love these remembrances, as that is the path of the darvish, and the goal of the heart, constant remembrance of God in every act of life, no matter how small or large, until Hu becomes the body and the acts also. Ah, in this month of Ramadan especially, I keep thinking, “What have you done to deserve any blessings?” And I have no answer. If not for the mercy and forgiveness of Allah, I would be lost in this life and the next.

    So a blessed Ramadan to all who chance upon these words :)

    “O moon-faced Beloved,
    the month of Ramadan has arrived.
    Cover the table
    and open the path of praise.”
    – Rumi

    Ya Haqq!

  7. MiracleBrush.com says:

    Beautiful post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 343 other followers

