Alhamdulillah!

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

Whether harshness comes from God’s Grandeur
or fidelity comes from God’s Beauty,
both of them are “pure goodness” to the soul;
be pleased with His benevolence, be pleased with His severity.

                                      – Yunus Emre

This lovely Turkish couplet is similar to a line of Rumi: “I am a lover of His Benevolence and Severity.”  Many Sufis believe that this is the true meaning of Alhamdulillah! That Allah is to be praised for His goodness toward us as well as His harshness, which is the rough cloth that polishes the mirror of our heart with our tears. On the path of Love, it is the tears of the heart that water the rose of wisdom.

Ya Haqq!

PS  Writeous Sister’s blog has posted the Mawlid Carnival in honor of the Prophet and Messenger of Islam (salalahi alahi wa salaam),  Pay a visit HERE.

4 Responses to Alhamdulillah!

  1. Alhamdulillah!

    Anything if it come from the Friend , is goodness.

    How your parable (rough cloth) is beautiful, many thanks for sharing these brief wonderful words.

    Ya Haqq!

  2. Abdur Rahman says:

    Salaams Irving bhai

    Thank you for this. May Allah bless you and all that you do.

    Here’s some more from Master Yunus:

    ‘The moment this sweetheart caught my eye
    she washed away my thoughts
    and became my heart’s companion

    My heart is Her slave. My soul, Her slave.
    They struggle over who will be with Her.

    But I know that I hold the power over them.
    No one ever told me, but She became my happiness.

    Wherever I look it’s Her that I see.
    Even in Winter, Her Spring surrounds me.

    I’m no Khidr or Elias,
    and sometimes I’ve made a mess of things;
    yet however little I ate and drank, I was well fed.

    The whole universe has this Affection inside.
    Without this deep Love, faith hardens.

    If the fire of Your Love touches anyone, well…
    it touched Yunus and opened him to the universe.
    (Yunus Emre, trans. Shaykh Kabir Helminski & Rafik Algan)

    Abdur Rahman

  3. Irving says:

    Salaam Dear Brothers Ismail and Abdur:

    Thank you both for your comments and kind words. And for the lovely Yunus Emre poem, dear Abdur :) It is becoming evident that the comments section of blogs become in many cases an extension of the posts :)

    Ya Haqq!

  4. mshahin says:

    Salaam,

    I just recently got a book of poetry by Yunus Emre and I was very impressed; I’m thinking of posting some of it to my poetry blog in the future. Those lines are so true of the meaning of alhumdulilah. We must be pleased with what Allah gives us whether it is good or bad. Even in the bad there is good although a lot of times we can’t see it while we are in the difficult situation.

    Wa Salaam

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 343 other followers

