Speech and Silence

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

One of the Companions of the Messenger of Allah used to put pebbles in his mouth. When he wanted to say something he knew was to Allah, in Allah, and for the sake of Allah, he would remove them from his mouth. 

People’s destruction or salvation lies in speech and silence. Good fortune belongs to those who are given knowledge of what is incorrect and correct in speech, and the science of silence and its advantages, for it is one of the qualities of the prophets and one of the distinguishing marks of the select. Whoever knows the value of speech is an expert in the company of silence: once a person has been exposed to the subtleties of silence, and has been entrusted with its treasures, then both his speech and silence are worship. No one is privy to this worship except the King of all, the All-Compelling.

From Lantern of the Path by Imam Jaffar Al-Sadiq

Ya Haqq!

12 Responses to Speech and Silence

  1. Suroor says:

    Brother! Why do I have a feeling you wrote this for me?! :-)

    I’m so blunt sometimes. Maybe I should tie pebbles around my wrists before I type something nasty!

    I will remember this always, Inshallah. Thank you!

  2. Abdur Rahman says:

    Salaams Irving bhai…

    I hope you’re well, by God’s grace.

    May Allah reward you for posting this. I’m sure you’re aware of my interest in Imam Ja’far al-Sadiq (may God be pleased with him) and so this post (and the link) is really useful. I’ve not come across this book before (Ansariyan publications are an Iranian publisher I believe). So, again, may God reward you.

    I’d really love to pick up a copy of Imam Ja’far’s tafsir. I don’t know that it’s easily available, but it’s going to be a major primary source for me, insha Allah.

    Ya Allah!

    Abdur Rahman

  3. Maliha says:

    Salamaat,
    I am speech-less.

    I pray to (re)learn that beauty of silence…

  4. musicalchef says:

    Too true! Thank you for the beautiful reminder.

  5. Ya Haqq!
    Beautiful words of Imam that those sitting on my heart.
    Bayazid Bastami said, “I never saw any lamp shining more brilliantly than the lamp of silence.”
    May Allah clear for us the truths of silence.

  6. seeker94 says:

    so very true. silence is rare these days.

  7. rama says:

    Hullo! I’m back to blog-reading after a spell of travel. Trust all goes well! Best, rama

  8. Bin Gregory says:

    I heard that story related as Sayyidina Abu Bakr (r) being the Sahabi in question… And I’m with Suroor; wisdom is that way I guess – it touches who it should touch.

  9. M. Shahin says:

    Salaam brother Irving,

    Thanks for sharing this. I’ve read it before and it is one of my favorites. Silence is not popular today, but because of that there is a lot of troubles and pain because people say just about anything (including myself) – thanks for this reminder. Every word we say is written down and known by Allah.

    Barak Allahu Feek

  10. oh the tongue is vicious! and silence surrounds the path to the divine.

  11. Lulando says:

    There are two kinds of speeches and two kinds of silences. Speech is
    either truth or a falsification, and silence is either fruition or
    heedlessness. If one speaks the truth, his words are better than his
    silence, but he who invents falsifications, his silence is better than
    his speech.

    Al-Hujwiri

    http://lulando.wordpress.com/2006/06/21/two-kinds-of-speeches/

  12. koonj says:

    Subhanallah, so true.
    Less food, less sleep, and less interaction/talk.
    And I’m guilty on all counts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 359 other followers

