2000 Fiery Mountains

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

While the Sufi Master Amr ibn Othman was residing in Mecca, he wrote to the Sufis Junayd, Jorairi, and Shebli in Baghdad. This is the postscript of that letter:

“Say to every one who yearns after the Carpet of Intimacy and the Court of Glory: If there be any of you who entertains high aspirations, say to him, ‘Come upon this road wherein there are two thousand fiery mountains and two thousand stormy and perilous seas. If you are not of this rank, make no false pretensions, for to false pretensions nothing is given.'”

When the letter reached Junayd, he gathered the elders of Iraq together and read it to them. Then he said, “Come, say what he means by these mountains.”

“By these mountains,” they replied, “he means naughting (negation of self). Until a person is naughted a thousand times and a thousand times revived, he does not attain the Court of Glory.”

“Of these two thousand fiery mountains,” Junayd remarked, “I have crossed only one.”

“You are lucky to have crossed one,” replied Jorairi. “Up to now I have gone only three steps.”

Shebli burst into tears. “You are fortunate, Junayd, to have crossed one mountain. And you are fortunate, Jorairi, to have gone three steps. Up to now, I have not even seen their dust from afar.”

- From Attar’s Memorial of the Saints.

Ya Haqq!

4 Responses to 2000 Fiery Mountains

  1. rabia says:

    Beautiful. Perhaps one has to die a thousand deaths before reaching the divinity we crave.

  2. Irving says:

    Salaam Dear Sister Rabia:

    Alas, one does indeed have to die a thousand deaths of the nafs, and be reborn a thousand times to them before they are naughted. And still they are tricky, convincing you of your victory and nearness to God, when all along it is vanity and hypocricy. That is the two thousand perilous seas one must also cross, if I read the letter correctly. Allah know the truth.

    Ya Haqq!

  3. Abdur Rahman says:

    Salaams, one and all…

    Jazak Allah khayran, Irving bhai. Beautiful indeed. O Lord! If the likes of Junayd, Jorairi and Shebli were worried about their own selves, what about me?

    Ya Allah! There is no hope of reaching the goal, except if You grant it!

    Ya Allah! Draw us all closer to You.

    Abdur Rahman

  4. Abdul Muneer says:

    Assalamu Alaikum..

    “If there be any of you who entertains high aspirations, say to him,…”

    Ya Rabb.. On my own I would not have aspired anything high. “Innahu kaana Lalooman Jahoola”..
    If I wish to be with You, my Rabb, it’s only because You tempted me. It’s You who guided me to a state, where, I can at least wish for You..
    Rabb, You are aware of my inability to traverse this path more than myself. Still You invited me!! Why? How do I come to You unless You yourself take me to You.. Bestow Your Mercy on Us..
    Allah, make me to my Shaykh what Hazrath Shibly (R.A) was to his Shaikh, Junayd(R.A)..

    (“If Allah asks me “what have you brought me, Ya Junayd”, I’ll show my Shibly”….Junayd(R.A) )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers

