The Prayer of Rabi’a

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

“O God, whatsoever Thou hast apportioned to me of worldly things, do Thou give that to Thy enemies; and whatsoever Thou hast apportioned to me in the world to come, give that to Thy friends; for Thou sufficest me.”

- Rabi’a al-Adawiya

From the Tadhkirat al-Auliya (The Memorial of the Saints) by Farid al-Din Attar

Ya Haqq!

12 Responses to The Prayer of Rabi’a

  1. Abdur Rahman says:

    Salaams Irving bhai

    :)

    Ma sha Allah, Effendim! What a great prayer! O how I wish I could utter such words with Truth! But, at this moment, I know they would be lies!

    Once again, you bring us jewels and once again, I only have my unworthy thanks to offer in return. May God reward you.

    PS – is the tadhkirat available as a book?

    Abdur Rahman

  2. Suroor says:

    Mashallah! Do people really have such big hearts, Irving?! I’m spellbound with the love she had in her heart.

  3. Irving says:

    Salaam Dear Abdur and Suroor:

    The saints of God have such hearts, dear Sister Suroor, and the masters of the path of Love. And yes, the book is available, dear Brother Abdur. I have added a link in the post to it on Amazon, though you can probably find it on other book sites, as well as in most bookstores that carry Sufi books. Thank you for reminding me to do so :)

    Ya Haqq!

  4. saqi says:

    Those words do seem to be from a person who has a big heart. Are there people like that in the worlds today? Lets hope that there are people like this because the world could use some love and hope and this time.

  5. Maliha says:

    Salamaat,
    what a beautiful soul mashaallah. She only reminds me of how much *i* am lacking.

  6. M. Shahin says:

    Salaam Alaikum,

    Brother Irving, you always find such beautiful words from others. She reminds us that to be near to Allah is paradise. I agree with Maliha; it reminds me of how much I’m lacking. This journey is a really hard test to see how we can unattach our hearts from possessions and attach it to Allah.

    May Allah grant us help in this.

  7. she certainly remains a light in a dark world, reminding us that there is really only one happiness

  8. Suroor says:

    Dear brother Irving,

    I’m asking for your help publicly so everyone can benefit. I mentioned that I’ll be moving to another country by the end of the month Inshallah, and now I should be able to receive books via post (although still not at doorstep!). I’m going to order the Master of the Jinn (Inshallah), but could you also suggest one more book on sufism which offers basic introduction to sufism/mentions great sufis/teaches the adaab?! I would be very grateful. Thank you!

  9. Sadiq says:

    who can match such a prayer!??

    i am sure its a prayer that creates envy even in the hearts of the angels.

    Saalam and Blessings to Rabi’a al-Adawiya.

  10. samaha says:

    I appreciate Rabi’a more and more each day. The thought of her devotion gives me goosebumps.

  11. shams says:

    here is some more of rabi’a…a friend and i were talking of the hajj, and i remembered this.

    6. Later she resolved to make the hajj and went into the desert. she had a donkey on which she loaded her belongings. But in the middle of the desert it died. The people in the caravan said, “we’ll carry your things”. She said, “I have not come this far by puttting my trust[ tavakkul] in you. Go one ahead.”
    The caravan departed. Rabi’a said, “My God, do kings treat a helpless woman this way? You invited me to your house, and then killed my donkey in the middle of the journey, and left me alone in the desert.”
    The donkey immediately got up. Rabi’a loaded it and went on. Sometime later the narrator of this tale reported seeing the little donkey sold.

    7. While Rabi’a was on her way to Mecca, she was left helpless in the desert for several days. She said, “My God, I am sore at heart. Where will I go? I am a clod of earth, and that house is a rock. I must have you.”
    The real Most High addressed her heart without intermediary, ” O Rabi’a, you wash in the blood of eighteen thousand worlds. Don’t you see that when Moses (pbuh) desired a vision, we cast a few motes of self manifestation on the mountain, and it shattered into forty pieces!”

    8. It is related that she was going to Mecca another time. In the middle of the desert she saw the Ka’ba had come out to welcome her. Rabi’a said, “I need the Lord of the house. What am I to do with the house? Its power means nothing to me. What delight is there in the Ka’ba’s beauty? What I need to welcome me is the one who said, ‘Whoever approaches me by a hand’s span, I will approach by an arm’s span.’ Why should I look at the Ka’ba?”

    Rabi’a is one of my shayks.
    Dear Brother Irving, you are a sustainer also, in reminding us of the piety and submission of the great saints.

  12. Irving says:

    Salaam Dear Sister Shams, and all Brothers and Sisters:

    May Allah bless your kindness in providing more of Rabi’as tales for us, and your courtesy in word and deed.

    Ya Haqq!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 356 other followers

