A Hadith of Remembrance

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

God has declared: “I am close to the thought that My servant has of Me, and I am with him whenever he recollects Me. If he remembers Me in himself, I remember him in Myself, and if he remembers Me in a gathering, I remember him better than those in the gathering do, and if he approaches Me by as much as one hand’s length, I approach him by a cubit, and if he approaches Me by a cubit, I approach him by two hands’ length. If he takes a step towards Me, I run towards him.”

- A hadith of the Prophet (pbuh)

Ya Haqq!

Note: A cubit is an ancient linear unit, 17 to 21 inches (43 to 53 cm).

From Traditions of the Prophet (Vol. 1) by Dr. Javad Nurbakhsh

10 Responses to A Hadith of Remembrance

  1. Abdur Rahman says:

    Salaams Irving,

    Yes, this is a very profound and meaningful hadith. I think it’s a hadith qudsi. At any rate, it’s certainly very famous. I’ve seen it rendered several ways in English.

    May God reward you for posting it.

    Abdur Rahman

  2. mark walter says:

    And so the Prophet teaches us the Art of Giving, always appreciating and building more value in the source. Thank you, Brother.

  3. sf says:

    Alhamdolillah!!!

    The significance and power of this hadith is beyond measure.

    Jazaak Allah Khair for posting this insightful hadith, brother!

  4. sheryza says:

    Mashallah what a beautiful hadith. Thank you for the reminder.
    jazakallhu khairan for your post.

  5. SUROOR says:

    Mashallah! Thank you Allah!

    And thank you dear brother for the reminder.

    PS: I haven’t forgotten that I have to give you the source of the hadith and I’m still trying but on the online Bukhari if I type “Quran” a 1000 ahadith emerge! I’m slow but I remember.

  6. mshahin says:

    Salaam Irving,

    This is one of my favorite hadiths. It says that God is always near and that just a little effort towards him will bring us near. How merciful and loving God is especially when we have so many mistakes, but He still wants us near.

    Wa Salaam

  7. Irving says:

    Salaam Dear Brothers and Sisters:

    This lovely hadith is also one of my favorites :) It exemplifies the sure fact that God is always as near as our thought of Him. Even when we do not think of Him, He is closer to us then our jugular vein.

    On the Sufi path, when a darvish is initiated and given a zekr to repeat, the darvish at first repeats it consciously, with each inhalation and exhalation of the breath, then after years on the path, it becomes part of him, and the zekr enters the heart; then each breath is a blessing and a prayer and a remembrance.

    Ya Haqq!

  8. saqi says:

    A powerful and moving haduath indeed. It also shows the aspects of Islam that are not usually highlighted in popular discourse.

  9. Sis Zabrina says:

    Bismillaah

    As Salaamu ‘alaykum brother,

    This is my first time here and Masya’Allaah, your blog has really interest me! This hadeeth you posted has brought much peace to my heart, gave me contentment and allow me to live without fear, knowing His rope is always there for me, and more importantly, He is always there for me. Jazakallaah for sharing brother.:))

    Sis Zabrina

  10. Sadiq says:

    Mashallah. So beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 368 other followers

