Amish Country

Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

This post has been long in coming. It has dwelled in my heart, even as my heart went out to the Amish community of Pennsylvania over the terrible deaths of the five young girls, killed by a very sad and deeply troubled man. And when I heard of the Amish reaction to the killings, I wept.

A grandfather told a group of young people that we should forgive the troubled man. “We should not think evil of him,” he said. Then a younger man on a news program was asked if he forgave the man, he said: “Yes, we have to show him forgiveness, the way we want Jesus to forgive us.”

I wanted to embrace them all and cry with them. Then, when a fund was set up for the families of the murdered girls, the Amish community also set up a fund for family of the killer.  The families of all the victims.

Many Amish also came to the man’s funeral and prayed for him. Never have I witnessed such love and compassion amid anguish and pain. As an unworthy darvish, I ask myself if I would have acted with such forgiveness, and tears well in my eyes because I know the answer.

May God bless and take into his keeping the souls of the five girls. And may He show compassion and mercy on the very troubled man who killed them.

 Amin.

“Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not love, I am become as a sounding brass and tinkling cymbal.  And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and have all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not love, I am nothing.”

- 1 Corinthians 13:1

Ya Haqq!

12 Responses to Amish Country

  1. pbsweeney says:

    I remain stunned and chastened by the actions of the Amish in such a terrible time. And I think how much we all need their example, how oddly timely, as two culures are in conflict all over the world. I cry every time I think about the pure hearts of the Amish, and feel blessed to have been witness.

  2. samaha says:

    Of all things that we must do, foregiveness remains the hardest, yet forgiveness is the road to both internal peace and world peace.

    The Amish have set a humbling example for us all.

  3. April Girl says:

    Salaam brother Irving, thank you for your wonderful comment and the beautiful saying : “Silence, for breath is a Godsend.” I’ll be applying that in my life inshAllah!

    The Amish community have set a powerful example of true forgiveness, forgiving that which is unforgivable.

    Thank you so much for writing, inshAllah I’ll be coming back soon. Please don’t forget the rest of us in your prayers!

    Ya Haqq : )

  4. Tasmiya says:

    I had no idea about the fund set up for the family of the killer. This is truly humbling. I know how angry and upset I become if someone even has to look the wrong way at someone I love.

  5. darvish says:

    Salaam Dear Friends:

    Indeed, the Amish set an example for us all. May their spirit of love and forgiveness find its way into all our hearts, no matter what adversity we may face. Amin.

    Ya Haqq!

  6. Sadiq says:

    you bring tears to my eyes O dear Darvish!

    may the blessings of Lord be with the beloved Amish brothers and Sisters. My love to them all and yes i embrace them all.

  7. SUROOR says:

    A lesson to be learnt for all of humanity from the response of the Amish people. They are the true followers of Jesus. May Allah have mercy on those who show mercy, ameen!

  8. shaharazed says:

    Salaams,

    Yes, I have always admired the Amish. They truly emulate the teachings of Prophet Jesus, peace be upon him. This incident just makes me respect them even more.

  9. sf says:

    In their forgiveness, the Amish people symbolize the virtue of immense patience……and represent themselves as the true followers of the Book…

    an exemplary group of people…….each of their reactions, while accepting the grave calamity, is a proof of their unwavering Piety towards God……
    ”Indeed God is with the patient”(Quran2:249)
    May God Bless them all. Ameen

    Jazaak Allah Khair, Br. Irving for this post full of compassion…..it is truly inspirational, overwhelming and humbling…

  10. M. Shahin says:

    It is amazing their forgiveness and compassion. They set an example for all people including Muslims. They are following the teachings of Jesus (peace be upon him). May we all be like them.

    Wa Salaam

  11. rama says:

    Thank you dear brother for giving voice to this deepest impulse in every human being, of unconditional love, to express the unconditional love of the Almighty with which we are constantly embraced at every moment. This is the only and true religion, of unstinting forgiving and harmony. Now I begin to understand the miracle and grace of the existence of the Amish among us. Best, rama

  12. BostonSufis says:

    Thank you for such a heart-felt post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 336 other followers

