O, My Servants

Salaam and Greetings of Peace: 

O My servants, I have forbidden oppression for Myself and have made it forbidden amongst you, so do not oppress one another. O My servants, all of you are astray except for those I have guided, so seek guidance of Me and I shall guide you, O My servants, all of you are hungry except for those I have fed, so seek food of Me and I shall feed you. O My servants, all of you are naked except for those I have clothed, so seek clothing of Me and I shall clothe you. O My servants, you sin by night and by day, and I forgive all sins, so seek forgiveness of Me and I shall forgive you. O My servants, you will not attain harming Me so as to harm Me, and will not attain benefiting Me so as to benefit Me. O My servants, were the first of you and the last of you, the human of you and the jinn of you to be as pious as the most pious heart of any one man of you, that would not increase My kingdom in anything. O My servants, were the first of you and the last of you, the human of you and the jinn of you to be as wicked as the most wicked heart of any one man of you, that would not decrease My kingdom in anything. O My servants, were the first of you and the last of you, the human of you and the jinn of you to rise up in one place and make a request of Me, and were I to give everyone what he requested, that would not decrease what I have, any more than a needle decreases the sea if put into it. O My servants, it is but your deeds that I reckon up for you and then recompense you for, so let him who finds good praise Allah and let him who finds other than good blame no one but himself.  

- A Hadith Qudsi (Divine Saying), on the authority of Abu Dharr al-Ghifari, related by Muslim, at-Tirmidhi and Ibn Majah.  

From a larger post by our worthy brother Abdur Rahman on his most excellent The Corner blog. 

Ya Haqq!

10 Responses to O, My Servants

  1. Ali Ahadpour says:

    I read a quote by ibn arabi about the love and worship of Allah which fits nicely with this hadith because to truly worship Allah to the best of our ability is to Lovingly worship HU.
    “It is Allah alone, who is the fountainhead of all the beautiful characteristics and qualities. He is perfect in his essence and attributes and as such as to develop affection is everlasting and of great worth and value. Love for any worldly object is temporary because the worldly objects are themselves transitory and temporary in nature. It is on this account that the highly learned and intellectual persons cherish spiritual love for Allah, and Allah alone.”

  2. Irving says:

    True words indeed, brother Ali. All beauty, all love, all joy, all majesty and glory ultimately reside only in Allah. We transient creatures in a transient universe are the means by which this Hidden Treasure becomes known. May Allah enlighten our hearts and grant knowledge of Hu to our minds. Amin.

    Ya Haqq!

  3. sf says:

    سُبْحَانَ اللّهِ الْعَظِيمِ وَ بِحَمْدِه
    SubhanAllahi ‘l-`adheem wa biHamdihi (Glory be to Allah, The Supreme, and Praise Him)

    Jazaak Allah Khair, br. Irving

  4. sf says:

    Ramadan Mubarak to you and your family, br. Irving!
    Ramadan Mubarak to all who visit here!

  5. darvish says:

    Ramadan Mubarak to you and your family also, dear Sf, and to all to visit here :)
    Ya Haqq!

  6. saly says:

    The opening sentence is magic! Should we all not take wisdom from it?

    Thank you Irving and Ramadan Mubarak to you and yours and everyone!

  7. Maliha says:

    Salamaat,
    Ramadhan Mubarak ya Darvish..i love this hadith :)

  8. Shiraz says:

    Yes, yes, Ramadan is underway! Ramadan mubarak to all! Let’s make it a great month!

  9. Ali Ahadpour says:

    Dear Brother Irving

    I wish u and your family, and all readers of this amazing blog- a wondeful, blessed, holy month of Ramadhan- I am truly grateful to HU for “finding” you, your blog and your amazing spiritually expanding and enlightening book which changed me in so many positive ways. Take care and God Bless.

    Ya ALLAH!

  10. Ali Eteraz says:

    this was really beautiful.

    i have always had a fondness for brother abu dharr

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 343 other followers

